Copyright © 2016 Hail Science

Hail Science

Three MIT alumni awarded 2020 MacArthur “genius” grants


Three MIT alumni awarded 2020 MacArthur “genius” grants

Three MIT alumni have won a 2020 MacArthur Fellowship, a prestigious honor unofficially known as the “Genius Grant.”
“In the midst of civil unrest, a global pandemic, natural disasters, and conflagrations, this group of 21 exceptionally creative individuals offers a moment for celebration,” says Cecilia Conrad, managing director of the 40-year-old fellowship program. Each recipient will receive a $625,000, no-strings-attached award.
Learn about the MIT-affiliated recipients:
Isaiah Andrews PhD ’14, professor of economics at Harvard University
As an econometrician, working in the subfield of economics that develops new statistical tools, Andrews is developing robust methods of statistical inference to address key challenges in economics, social science, and medicine.
From the MacArthur Foundation website:
“Much of Andrews’s work has focused on problems of weak identification, where information is limited and the validity of many standard inference procedures is thus called into question. The causal effect of one variable on another is said to be identified if it could be learned from a sufficiently large dataset. Weak identification arises when a small change in the distribution of the data would eliminate our ability to determine the causal effect. In an examination of nonlinear models, Andrews and a collaborator produced a pathbreaking analysis of the geometric structure of weak identification with applications in macroeconomic models.…” Read more.

Continue Reading

More in Other

- Advertisement -

Most Popular

To Top